Call & Text History Logging with Facebook Messenger or Facebook Lite on Android

Android users have discovered when downloading their Facebook files, that there is a section of the download that contains details on phone calls and text messages. In response to user queries, Facebook has stated that call and text history logging are part of an opt-in feature for people using Facebook Messenger or Facebook Lite on Android, which were introduced in 2015.  Facebook further states that users had to “expressly agree to use this feature”, that it could be turned off at any time, that the feature does not collect call or text message content, and information is stored securely and not sold to third parties. According to Facebook, if the app is deleted, previous call and text history will also be deleted.

ars Technica notes “[I]f you are really concerned about privacy, you should not share address book and call-log data with any mobile application. And you may want to examine the rest of what can be found in the downloadable Facebook archive, as it includes all the advertisers that Facebook has shared your contact information with, among other things.” 

The following are instructions to turn off/on continuous syncing of contacts to Facebook Messenger on all devices should you choose to do so.

  1. From Home, tap your profile picture in the top right corner.
  2. Tap People
  3. Synched Contacts to turn this setting off/on. 

Additional Resources: