Fall 2017 Academic Calendar

Holiday: Labor Day Monday, September 4
Fall classes begin Tuesday, September 5
Syllabus submission deadline Monday, September 11
Last day of active waitlists Monday, September 18
Fall recess: classes cancelled (University offices open) Monday, October 9
Midterm grading deadline Monday, November 6
Thanksgiving recess: classes cancelled

(University offices open on Wednesday and closed on Thursday and Friday)

Wednesday, November 22 – Sunday, November 26
Legislative Day Tuesday, December 12

(CLASSES MEET ON A MONDAY SCHEDULE; see table below)

Last day of classes Friday, December 15
Reading Days Saturday, December 16 – Sunday, December 17
Final exam week Monday, December 18 – Friday, December 22
Final grades deadline Friday, December 22
Winter recess for University Offices Saturday, December 23 – Monday, January 1

Below is the class meeting schedule during the last week of classes, December 11 – 15.

If your course meets on:  During the last week of classes, your course will meet:
 Monday & Wednesday Monday, December 11 &

Tuesday, December 12 (runs on a Monday schedule) &

Wednesday, December 13

 Tuesday & Thursday Thursday, December 14 (no class on Tuesday, December 12)
 Monday only Monday, December 11 &
Tuesday, December 12
 Tuesday only None (last class is Tuesday, December 5)
 Wednesday only Wednesday, December 13
 Thursday only Thursday, December 14
 Friday only Friday, December 15

Summer 2017 Academic Calendar

SESSION I: MAY 22 – JULY 2
Classes begin Monday, May 22
Syllabus  deadline Friday, May 26
Holiday: Memorial Day Monday, May 29
Last day of classes Sunday, July 2
SESSION II: JULY 3 – AUGUST 13
Classes begin Monday, July 3
Holiday: Independence Day Tuesday,July 4
Syllabus deadline Friday, July 7
Last day of classes Sunday, August 13

Spring 2017 Academic Calendar

Spring classes begin Monday, January 23
Syllabus submission deadline Monday, January 30
Last day of active waitlists Sunday, February 5
Holiday: Presidents’ Day Monday, February 20
Spring recess: classes cancelled (University offices open) Monday, March 13 – Sunday, March 19
Midterm grading deadline (grading roster opens on March 6) Friday, March 31
Last day of classes Monday, May 8
Reading Day Tuesday, May 9
Final exam week Wednesday, May 10 – Tuesday, May 16
NYU Commencement Wednesday, May 17
Gallatin Graduation Thursday, May 18
Final grades deadline Friday, May 19

January Term 2017 Academic Calendar

January term classes begin Tuesday, January 3
University reopens Wednesday, January 4
Syllabus submission deadline Tuesday, January 10
Holiday: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 16
Last day of classes Friday, January 20

Fall 2016 Academic Calendar

Holiday: Labor Day Monday, September 5
Fall classes begin Tuesday, September 6
Syllabus submission deadline Monday, September 12
Last day of active waitlists Tuesday, September 20
Fall recess: classes cancelled (University offices open) Monday, October 10
Midterm grading deadline Monday, November 7
Thanksgiving recess: classes cancelled

(University offices open on Wednesday and closed on Thursday and Friday)

Wednesday, November 23 – Sunday, November 27
Legislative Day Tuesday, December 13

(CLASSES MEET ON A MONDAY SCHEDULE; see table below)

Last day of classes Friday, December 16
Reading Days Saturday, December 17 – Sunday, December 18
Final exam week Monday, December 19 – Friday, December 23
Final grades deadline Friday, December 23
Winter recess for University Offices Saturday, December 24 – Monday, January 2

Below is the class meeting schedule during the last week of classes, December 12 – 16.

If your course meets on:  During the last week of classes, your course will meet:
 Monday & Wednesday Monday, December 12 &

Tuesday, December 13 (runs on a Monday schedule) &

Wednesday, December 14

 Tuesday & Thursday Thursday, December 15 (no class on Tuesday, December 13)
 Monday only Monday, December 12 &
Tuesday, December 13
 Tuesday only None (last class is Tuesday, December 6)
 Wednesday only Wednesday, December 14
 Thursday only Thursday, December 15
 Friday only Friday, December 16